RM Reports inaccessible

Technical problems with Medisoft.
Post Reply
drk
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 11:40 am
Location: Boston, MA

RM Reports inaccessible

Post by drk » Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:06 pm

Last two or three days, whenever I try to open the ERA folder for posting, I get a bizarre thumbs.db related error. AFAIK, nothing changed but it is now practically impossible to read/post the ERAs. I have turned off the generation of new thumbs.db files via the Group Policy Editor, which are MSFT's image preview thumbnails, but the problem persists. Please see attached screenshot. A new thumbs.db is created every 5 seconds or so. Any ideas?

I have not yet rebooted the system as it is in production.
Attachments
thumbsdb.png
thumbsdb.png (57.6 KiB) Viewed 1404 times

User avatar
Gavin Walker
Posts: 4139
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Location: Springfield, MO
Contact:

Re: RM Reports inaccessible

Post by Gavin Walker » Tue Nov 07, 2017 10:43 pm

Make sure you have read/write access in the entire MediData folder. Especially in the download folder. Nothing keeping files open, such as a download in progress from your clearinghouse. Set anti-virus not to scan the Medidata folder.
Gavin Walker
Walker Tek Solutions, LLC
417-890-6777

drk
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 11:40 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: RM Reports inaccessible

Post by drk » Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:27 am

Yes, I checked all the above--it keeps happening even if I open an instance of Medisoft on the server where the data folder is. I have also turned off "Vew thumbnails" option that supposedly creates the thumbs.db files. I have since rebooted the server twice.

User avatar
Gavin Walker
Posts: 4139
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Location: Springfield, MO
Contact:

Re: RM Reports inaccessible

Post by Gavin Walker » Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:19 am

Try right-clicking on Medisoft icon and select Run As Administrator.

drk
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 11:40 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: RM Reports inaccessible

Post by drk » Thu Nov 09, 2017 3:24 pm

Sorry, didn't help. A reinstall of Medisoft+RM, recreating ReportDefs, and running Medisoft as Administrator do not make a difference -- Looks like a Windows 10 issue, not sure why it is happening suddenly on all clients. I have a whole stack of these files -- Thumbs_<datestamp>.db files

[img][attachment=0]Capture2.PNG[/attachment][/img]
Attachments
Capture2.PNG
Capture2.PNG (80.53 KiB) Viewed 1386 times

User avatar
Gavin Walker
Posts: 4139
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Location: Springfield, MO
Contact:

Re: RM Reports inaccessible

Post by Gavin Walker » Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:06 pm

What version and service pack of Medisoft do you have?

drk
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 11:40 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: RM Reports inaccessible

Post by drk » Sat Nov 11, 2017 1:10 pm

Most recent v21, sp2. 21.2.2.68, I think.

User avatar
Gavin Walker
Posts: 4139
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Location: Springfield, MO
Contact:

Re: RM Reports inaccessible

Post by Gavin Walker » Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:53 am

Try checking your Windows Updates and installing any of them and then doing a reboot.

Post Reply