Medisoft v20 stops after Win 10 cumulative update

Technical problems with Medisoft.
User avatar
Gavin Walker
Posts: 4168
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Location: Springfield, MO
Contact:

Re: Medisoft v20 stops after Win 10 cumulative update

Post by Gavin Walker » Wed May 18, 2016 3:39 pm

I was able to use the Microsoft support download above to hide KB3156421 from reinstalling. Thanks Ardu.

drk
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 11:40 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Medisoft v20 stops after Win 10 cumulative update

Post by drk » Wed May 18, 2016 8:35 pm

Has anyone worked out how to make Medisoft work on a Windows 10 Insider Preview machine? They have the same problem since the latest update....

ardu
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 1:50 pm

Re: Medisoft v20 stops after Win 10 cumulative update

Post by ardu » Thu May 19, 2016 7:04 am

drk --> I would recommend to just uninstall the update that is causing Medisoft to not run/open. Then use the Microsoft "Show or hide updates" troubleshooter package from the link in my post on page 1 of this thread to hide the update from automatically re-installing. It is a temp solution for now. Hopefully, there will be another hotfix in the future from e-MDs/McKesson.

drk
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 11:40 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Medisoft v20 stops after Win 10 cumulative update

Post by drk » Thu May 19, 2016 12:52 pm

ardu - thanks, but no can do, the updates history is no longer available for this machine. Curiously, if I start the computer in safe mode with networking, medisoft comes up instantly. So it is some service difference between safe mode and normal boot. Still looking for such a list.

drk
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 11:40 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Medisoft v20 stops after Win 10 cumulative update

Post by drk » Thu May 19, 2016 7:26 pm

OK, I figured it out on one of my computers -- please report here if it works for you.

Disable [i]"Base Filtering Engine"[/i] service from the services list and Medisoft starts up instantly. The downside is that it must be enabled by default or the Windows Firewall will not run. Don't know what else, yet.

If you are inside a secure network edge firewall, disabling Base Filtering Engine may be a solution until a better fix is available from either M{edi/icro}Soft.

ardu
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 1:50 pm

Re: Medisoft v20 stops after Win 10 cumulative update

Post by ardu » Fri May 20, 2016 7:22 am

drk--

Disable "base filtering engine" and it subcomponents (firewall, defender, ipsec) did not work for me.

Also, with the update installed and running in safe mode with networking, Medisoft would not open either (so no "other" programs were running)

So, turning off defender, firewall and network filters and/or running in safe mode, for me, did not allow Medisoft to load. The only thing that will allow Medisoft to load, for me, is uninstalling the cumulative update.

The last thing that I had not tried while having the update installed was re-applying/re-installing the Medisoft hotfix.

Lastly, my Win 10 is home edition and not signed up for preview builds. There could be another update even newer leading to your issues. Good luck.

User avatar
Gavin Walker
Posts: 4168
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Location: Springfield, MO
Contact:

Re: Medisoft v20 stops after Win 10 cumulative update

Post by Gavin Walker » Thu May 26, 2016 11:01 am

For those of you that noticed Microsoft security update KB3156421 caused Medisoft v20 to start hanging, can you check to see if OneDrive is also running. We have found if you stop OneDrive, then Medisoft will start.

ardu
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 1:50 pm

Re: Medisoft v20 stops after Win 10 cumulative update

Post by ardu » Thu Jun 02, 2016 8:49 am

Not for me. OneDrive was uninstalled when I first setup this machine. Not having the update is only thing that worked for me.

drk
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 11:40 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Medisoft v20 stops after Win 10 cumulative update

Post by drk » Thu Jun 02, 2016 8:34 pm

This gets even weirder -- Until now, Medisoft used to hang if the service BFE was running. Today, I had to enable to enable the BFE and firewall to install a new font. Although I had the firewall running, Medisoft started up right away.

* Not relevant to the main thread, but interesting. On many Win 10 installations, if the firewall is NOT running, new fonts will NOT install.

ardu
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 1:50 pm

Re: Medisoft v20 stops after Win 10 cumulative update

Post by ardu » Thu Jun 16, 2016 6:35 am

Another cumulative update that freezes Medisoft v20 on Windows 10 --> KB3163018 as of 6/15/2016. Have to use the windows update show/hide troubleshooter to hide the security update from continuously installing.

I wish Medisoft would have a fix for this. This is now the last 2 cumulative security update patches from Microsoft for Windows 10 that cause Medisoft v20 to hang/not load and give startup error message.

drk
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 11:40 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Medisoft v20 stops after Win 10 cumulative update

Post by drk » Mon Jun 20, 2016 12:02 pm

McKesson? ... McKesson? ... McKesson?

Sorry, could'nt resist.

User avatar
Gavin Walker
Posts: 4168
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Location: Springfield, MO
Contact:

Re: Medisoft v20 stops after Win 10 cumulative update

Post by Gavin Walker » Mon Jun 20, 2016 1:41 pm

e-MDs... :wink:

drk
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 11:40 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Medisoft v20 stops after Win 10 cumulative update

Post by drk » Wed Jul 20, 2016 10:35 am

Not to beat a dead horse, but it has been since May 2016 that many Windows 10 + Medisoft 20 users are experiencing this hang-up.

Is there a fix in sight???? Any status/ETA?

drk
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 11:40 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Medisoft v20 stops after Win 10 cumulative update

Post by drk » Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:01 pm

Another weirdness that is repeatable:

Have the task manager open with the detail view. Open Medisoft. It will load about 6.0 MB and freeze there. After waiting for about 30 seconds, staring at the task manager, end the Medisoft task with a right click.

Wait 5 seconds, try opening a new instance of Medisoft, it will open immediately - the task manager will show the program loading past 6.0 MB, till about 27 MB, at which point the login screen appears.

Ugh. I don't have the option of uninstalling the above cumulative update, and I need these hacks, at least until eMDs in their wisdom decide that they will fix it.

User avatar
Gavin Walker
Posts: 4168
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Location: Springfield, MO
Contact:

Re: Medisoft v20 stops after Win 10 cumulative update

Post by Gavin Walker » Thu Jul 28, 2016 9:54 am

Try this and see if it works. In your Medisoft\Bin folder create a file ADS.INI if it does not already exist. Add these two lines to it:

[SETTINGS]
USE_TCP_IP=1

If ADS.INI already exists, add USE_TCP_IP=1 under the section heading [SETTINGS] and let me know what else you have in ADS.INI.

Post Reply