Free Medisoft Support & Other - Courtesy Support Resource

For prospective & existing Walker Tek Solutions' clients. (Remember me for upgrades ~ Gavin)
It is currently Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:44 am

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:08 pm
Posts: 12
Hi, I am encountering bill submission issues. Rejected. Error messages are written exactly like these: Please help.
1. PRINCIPAL DIAGNOSIS CODE IS MISSING OR INVALID FOR DIAGNOSIS TYPE (ICD-9, ICD-10){Z966441D}
2. SUPPLEMENTAl DIAGNOSIS CODE IS MISSING OR INVALID FOR DIAGNOSIS TYPE GIVEN (ICD-9, ICD-10) {R2689}

The codes were entered correctly in the medisoft V20 ; because I was able to use medicare software to send / transmit similar codes with no problems.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Posts: 4003
Location: Springfield, MO
Are these UB-04 or Institutional claims? Are these paper claims or electronic claims? How are you submitting them?

_________________
Gavin Walker
Walker Tek Solutions, LLC
417-890-6777


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:08 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks for responding. No this is professional out patient cms 1500


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:08 pm
Posts: 12
electronic via capario


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 5:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Posts: 4003
Location: Springfield, MO
Either you do not have Medisoft ICD-10 completely setup or you have the wrong iGuide in Revenue Management.

_________________
Gavin Walker
Walker Tek Solutions, LLC
417-890-6777


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 6:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:08 pm
Posts: 12
Hi,
Thanks again. I had called Emdeon/ capario (the clearinghouse) and I was told that implementation was not properly set up, code list qualifier needs to be changed to icd 10 qualifier. My V20 was purchased from Medtech, I am hoping that I can have it re looked at or be told what needs be done.
I will appreciate your imput.
Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 5:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Posts: 4003
Location: Springfield, MO
We still don't know if you didn't set the ICD-10 cut-over date on the insurance (see the link above). If that is not it, I am pretty sure it is the iGuide. You will want to go to RM>Configuration>Receivers. In the transaction set you will want to select the MS19 5010 -Standard.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 11:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 11:46 am
Posts: 45
We had the same error recently.

"Principal diagnosis code is missing or invalid for diagnosis type given (ICD-9, 1CD-10) or cannot be external cause code"

We are using Medisoft Advanced v20 and using 5010 v19 Standard Revenue Management and had no issues after 10-1-2015.

What we discovered by viewing the EDI data is that the principal diagnosis (which was an ICD-10 diagnosis code) was not being label "ABK" but "BK" signifying that was a an ICD-9 diagnosis code.

How the hell did that happen when it's set up as an ICD-10 code in the diagnosis list and we configured only ICD-10 codes to be used the default code set in "Program Options"?

Answer? We added a new insurance company recently and despite the program option setting, ICD-9 format was being sent out in the EDI data for the diagnosis. It appears to be a glitch in v20.

Solution? You have to manually go into Lists>Insurance> Carriers > Options and Codes > and make sure you manually confirm ICD-10 is selected from the drop down as it defaults to ICD-9.

_________________
Medisoft Advanced V20


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 3:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Posts: 4003
Location: Springfield, MO
If you have Medisoft Advanced or Network Pro, use the Set Default Option to default all new insurance carriers to ICD-10 with a 10/1/2015 effective date when you create them. On Medisoft Basic, you have to remember to set that each time you create a new insurance carrier.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 3:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Posts: 4003
Location: Springfield, MO
Whoops, it looks like the effective date won't default. I am putting an enhancement request in to McKesson.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 8:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 11:46 am
Posts: 45
Gavin, as you see, this appears to be a coding error in the program. We had ICD-10 set to 10/1/2015 as default for insurance carriers but it did not work. At least the fix is simple until a bug release comes out.

_________________
Medisoft Advanced V20


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 4:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Posts: 4003
Location: Springfield, MO
I thought you said you had to select ICD-10 and the cut-over date on the insurance. If that is not it, what did you do to fix this? If you have ICD-9 set on the insurance, then the old diagnosis code scheme is used and no mapping is performed. ICD-9 codes will be indicated on the electronic claims.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited