5010 requirements for 9 digit zipcode/Medisoft 17

Posts related Medisoft software.
Post Reply
lauramcferrin
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:50 pm

5010 requirements for 9 digit zipcode/Medisoft 17

Post by lauramcferrin » Wed Dec 14, 2011 6:19 pm

I am entering the additional 4 digits of our office zip code to the 'practice information" section but they are not showing up on the claims. Thanks for any info you can provide

User avatar
Gavin Walker
Posts: 4178
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Location: Springfield, MO
Contact:

Re: 5010 requirements for 9 digit zipcode/Medisoft 17

Post by Gavin Walker » Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:28 am

If you are talking paper or print image claims, the address comes from the provider record.
Gavin Walker
Walker Tek Solutions, LLC
866-890-6777
417-890-6777

lauramcferrin
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:50 pm

Re: 5010 requirements for 9 digit zipcode/Medisoft 17

Post by lauramcferrin » Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:23 pm

Thanks so much for your reply. However this does not answer my question. We are sending claims electronically to Gateway EDI using medisoft version 17. I have added the additional 4 digits to the zip code in the zip code box in the practice information section of Medisoft. However Gateway EDI is telling me that they are still getting only the 5 digit zip code.
Any thoughts?

Thanks Gavin!

Laura McFerrin

User avatar
Gavin Walker
Posts: 4178
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Location: Springfield, MO
Contact:

Re: 5010 requirements for 9 digit zipcode/Medisoft 17

Post by Gavin Walker » Fri Dec 16, 2011 11:11 am

Are you sending your claims with Revenue Management? Be sure to enter your zip code without the dash. For example - 658044248 instead of 65804-4248.

lauramcferrin
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:50 pm

Re: 5010 requirements for 9 digit zipcode/Medisoft 17

Post by lauramcferrin » Sat Dec 24, 2011 8:51 am

Yes we are sending our claims with revenue management and also entered the nine digit zip code without the dash. I have continued to try to find the answer to my question by doing my own research on Medisoft 17. I think I may have actually found the answer! Under the "LISTS" tab, go to "FACILITY LISTS" and add the four digits there. I will run another test next week with our clearinghouse next week and see if this works. I will let you know. Seems so simple but one needs to know how, and finding the answers to these "simple" questions" is remarkably difficult.
Thanks so much!

User avatar
Gavin Walker
Posts: 4178
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Location: Springfield, MO
Contact:

Re: 5010 requirements for 9 digit zipcode/Medisoft 17

Post by Gavin Walker » Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:44 am

Yes, enter Zip+4 in Practice Address, Provider Address, and Facility Address.

Post Reply