Free Medisoft Support & Other - Courtesy Support Resource

For prospective & existing Walker Tek Solutions' clients. (Remember me for upgrades ~ Gavin)
It is currently Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:17 am

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 7:18 pm
Posts: 23
I would like to ask about what the difference is between that Backup and Backup Root Data? I understand that the regular Backup is our practice information, but what is the Root data Backup? Do both backups need to be run (ie do I need to run both daily and weekly, saving them like tuesdayroot, tuesdaybackup etc?)
I just was able to overcome the access violation when attempting the regular backup due to too many files in EMC folder. We run Medisoft v 12 and are soon to upgrade to v 17, but we need some reliable backups.
Thanks for all of the information you've made available here. I just saved the link to the knowledge base. I was wondering where it had gone!
Erin


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Posts: 4128
Location: Springfield, MO
If you run a Backup, it backs up all the files under your practice data folder, including subfolders.

If you run a Backup Root Data, it backs up all the files within your Medisoft Root Data folder (usually C:\Medidata), but it does not include any subfolders. You only need to run this after registering your software or after you add a new practice to your practice list. I have found the Restore Root Data function to be unreliable, but if you work with a value added reseller, they should be able to restore your root data folder manually from the backup. Alternatively, if you keep a printout of your registration information, that should be all that you need from your root data. If you need to restore to a new computer, just key the registration information in and your are good to go.

We offer a backup service called HIPAA Backup Service if you need it.

_________________
Gavin Walker
Walker Tek Solutions, LLC
417-890-6777


Last edited by Gavin Walker on Wed May 14, 2014 10:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 4:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 2:38 pm
Posts: 3
I have medisoft v18 net pro. When I go to "file" > "backup" > then "backup data" it back everything up fine. However when I tried to restore the database it says backup contain root files. I'm sure I did not use the Root Backup method. What do you think caused it and does the root backup include the company database? My medisoft program directory is installed on "C:\Medisoft" but my database is located in "E:\medidata".

My objective is to restore the database to a new company file/name.

Thank you


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 4:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:11 pm
Posts: 4128
Location: Springfield, MO
Your Medisoft Root Data is normally in \MediData and your practice data will be in \MediData\<practice folder name>.

Issues can happen when Medisoft gets installed or a new Windows users is created, then Medisoft will prompt for the Medisoft Root Data folder. If you browse to \MediData\<practice folder name> then root data files will get mixed into your practice data files.

If you purchase a month of Medisoft support from us, then we have a batch file that can clean this up fairly fast and we can work with you to get that data restored.

Take care!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited